Guards

Posted: August 19, 2012 in Uncategorized

Hopkins forgot the world unchanged, who else need try “the ooze of oil…shook foil…the Holy Ghost broods.” God’s Grandeur lives on. No favor Herbert’s “Collar” commends, its presence over hundreds of years, read late, name one or not at all. What falls between is the vanity.

Later on I will write as though I believed that words mean something, that they are palpable, a defense against entropy, armed bandits. By then I will mean it, set them as defenses, rings around those I love. They have a life of their own vibrating there, maybe like angels, but really they are more. How else can I guard these lives? See yesterday, but I write this as of 10 Nov, an armed robber appeared and there was no defense. In our town they are killing the police, who anyway, when I met them yesterday, seemed young and vulnerable compared to the hard case. I was troubled by my responsibility, for it is mine, to protect, but this morning I came on this phrase, “he guards the lives of his faithful ones” (Ps. 97.10) and with it an old note in the margin (Jn. 17.11) which said, “Holy Father, protect them by the power of your name, the name you gave me” and above “I have revealed you [but it is really “your name”] to those whom you gave me out of the world” (6). You can read the whole paragraph, but one more, “while I was with them I protected them and kept them safe by that name you gave me.” I have begun barricades surrounding them. You will see me there maybe, the scaffolds, the ladders, the boards, brick, cement. I am building the Name out of the word.

Leave a Reply

